How to auto-delete SV$ when closing Bricscad?

Peter2
edited September 24 in 2D Drafting

In Autocad, SV$ and their BAK are deleted when the software is closed. In BricsCad they are NOT deleted ..
Is there a way to handle it in Bricscad the same way that Autocad does?

Peter

Comments

  • Are you sure this is default AutoCAD behavior?

  • @Roy Klein Gebbinck said:
    Are you sure this is default AutoCAD behavior?

    Don't know but I think it is a great feature (for the BAK files).

    Or about the Lock Files, who does care about them when the stay after Bricscad crashed ?
    I can't remember ever having opened such a File in read-only mode later.

    Aren't SV$ Files my Auto Backup Files - so I would prefer them to stay :smile:

  • I have my temp directory set to d:/acadtemp so all my sv$ dwl1&2 ac$ files go there and have a clean up bat that is called from the CMD line of windows. I would not delete bak files until really sure that a project is all done.

  • @Roy Klein Gebbinck said:
    Are you sure this is default AutoCAD behavior?

    Yes.
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Understanding-AutoCAD-backup-and-autosave-files.html#section4

    "When AutoCAD closes normally, .sv$ files are deleted as any open drawings would be closed/saved normally."

  • Roy Klein Gebbinck
    edited September 24

    Thanks.

    I see that ISAVEBAK is also available in BricsCAD. So BAK files can be disabled. But I do not recommend it.

  • I knew that I can disable BAK files.

    And I still do not really understand how they help when saving a file
    or how much trash value I should give ....

    So if they help/accelerate when saving, create them.
    But what is their meaning when the File gets saved and closed.
    Would I miss something when they would be trashed when closing Files
    and Bricscad ?
    As they pollute my Finder Hierarchy and double needed Space, I often
    delete them manually anyway.

  • @Michael Mayer said:
    I knew that I can disable BAK files.

    And I still do not really understand how they help when saving a file
    or how much trash value I should give ....

    Nobody knows - it is a kind of "assurance", like the "Recycle bin". Maybe you know - in the early years every deleted files was (rather) completely deleted. And the BAK is the same - in the case of the case that you or someone else crashed or deleted your DWG and you have no current backup (in the afternoon for example) - you could need it ..

  • But isn't that what my Auto Backups are for ?

    I never had a CAD before that does such things.
    Microstation even wrote every action directly in the Drawing File,
    without the need to save. When it crashed, what it very rarely did
    you only lost your last command.
    Vectorworks or others save into the File when you save. If it crashes
    and corrupts the file, Moores law says that all your Auto Backups are
    usually corrupt too, for whatever reason. -> macOS Time Mashine.

    Someone said BAKs are used to accelerate saving. Depending on your
    setting of how much % Trash you set in Settings.
    Just can't remember if more or less Trash % setting is faster.

    And usually the BAK is that version of the Design File when you saved
    last. (And why is CTRL+S "Save" called "qlsave" ? (Quality Low Save ?))

    Maybe you know - in the early years every deleted files was (rather) completely deleted.

    Basically still that way if you work on a network drive.
    Happens from time to time that I want to clean up and delete the wrong files .....
    Yes, so there is still the BAK file.

Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!