Parital Workaround for Mouse Customization

I'm new to Bricscad, having just come over from 20 years of AutoCAD.  So far, I really like what I've seen, with the exception of the mouse customization issue, the subject of many posts here on the forum.  After playing with it for a couple of days, I've come up with a partial workaround that some of you may like.

The main problem is that we apparently cannot create individual menus of our own which can then be used as mouse menus.  (Not yet, anyway.)  In fact, there seems to be only three existing context menus that we can use with the mouse buttons, Grips, Edit and Snap.  Other than those three, all I've been able to do is program individual commands, like "move", to a button.

My solution:  Change one of the three existing menus.  I've never been a fan of Grips, anyway, and so what I did was simply go in and delete all the entries in the grips menu and then added my own macros to it instead.  Then just assign the grips menu to a mouse button and wa-la, it works great.  Those of you who are heavy users of those three menus won't be as impressed, of course, but that's okay.  Maybe you'll want to edit one of them instead.  Delete a few items on the, say, the grips menu that you don't use, and replace them with macros or commands of your own.  That'll work, too.

I'm sure Bricscad will have a more elegant solution down the road, but for today it's just what I needed.

Comments

• Are those menus within the CUI file, Charles?

Used to be easy a few years ago to edit a new MNU which came with a new release, or just keep using the old one. But CUI's are not so easy to edit and I have 38 of them buried in my system after a number of Bcad upgrades and customisation experiments.

I now tack on my own MNU and leave the main one alone, but as you say that can't override such things as mouse buttons.