possibility to export to IFC from BricsCAD or other options to convert 3D-data to ArchiCAD?

Hello,

I'm very new to BricsCAD and have a question regarding the possibilities to export 3D data that I created in BricsCAD for a client who works with ArchiCAD. My files contain mostly lines and hatches, some Polylines, arcs, circles, and text (it's plans from a building survey of a facade that I measured with a total station). I saved the files as 2004-dwg, and although it's possible to open them in ArchiCAD, the client tells me that he can't really work with them in 3D mode, because the lines are either not shown at all in 3D mode or shown as kind of a block without the possibility to use snap.
He was told by the ArchiCAD support that it would be best for him to import the data from an ifc-file.

Is there a possibility to convert data from BricsCAD into ifc, maybe with a 3rd party tool? I didn't find a direct export function in my BricsCAD (V13.1.22).
Or does anyone of you have experience with exchanging 3D data between BricsCAD and ArchiCAD?

Thank you very much in advance,
Philipp

Comments

• Hello Phillip,

i would say that your client should go to this site....
    http://www.archicadwiki.com/DWG/Import
    and get informed about the possibilities to import DWG files directly into Archicad !
    As you can read there are different possibilities for this... its's just a matter of choosing one.
    Why use IFC (especially for 2D geometry) if you have DWG ???

• Hello Konstantin,

thank you for your reply and the link.

I think I have been inaccurate in my description. Although the objects in my drawings are lines, polylines etc., they are not 2D elevations but are all measured and drawn in 3D to describe the exact geometry of the existing facade in space (+/- 2cm).