Need some coaching for creating sheet sets in v14

I am new to using sheet sets, and am perhaps missing something.

I attempted to create a sheet set by selecting a directory.  There is actually only one .dwg file that has the pages I want.  However, that directory has some x-ref files, and a sub-directory that has backups of the drawings.  If I choose that directory, I get everything in every .dwg file.

I am sure there is a way to un-select the unwanted files.  If I just continue, a window that seems to be in the drawing explorer for my curent drawing.  However, on that list is a large number of "layout-1" pages, and other pages that have the same name (from all my back-up drawing files).  Note that I had the option to include the drawing name as a prefix, and did have that option selected.  The problem is that when I view the sheets in drawing explorer, it shows a list with the list of sheets that omit the file name prefix.  Note that further down the list, it also seems to list the same sheets with the prefixes.

Am I just approaching this process in an incorrect manner?  Really all I want to do is create a PDF that has all the layout tabs, but not the model tab.  I thought a sheet set would be the way to do that.

-Joe Dunfee

Comments

•  Hi Joe, I don't know if you figured this out but after a bit of playing around I think I have sorted your issue with the following process:

1). Open up the drawing explorer and select the Sheets Tab.
    2). Click on the new sheet button and choose the "Empty" Sheet Set option. Then follow the prompts.
    3). Right Click on the Sheet Set name in the tree view and select "New Sheets". Choose "Import Layouts from existing drawings" in the new sheet dialog and click on add drawings. Select the drawing/s that you are interested in.
    4). Deselect the layouts you don't want.
    5) Job Done!

Hope that helps.

• Thank yo very much Daniel.  I never would have figured all those steps out on my own.