Simple inset box - 2d Constraint

Since I am fairly new to BricsCAD's implementation of 2D constraints, I realize I may not be going about this correctly.  Perhaps someone here can suggest an alternative approach. I want to create a simple rectangle, which has a smaller rectangle offset to the inside.  This is to represent a room, with a consistent wall thickness. Attached is the drawing, created as described below.

1) Starting with a blank drawing, and using the Imperial-Default template, I draw the outer rectangle.
2) Using the Offset command, I create the inner rectangle.
3) Using the 2D constraints, I fix the lower left corner of the outer rectangle.
4) Using the 2D Horizontal Dimension constraint, I dimension the lower left corners of the two rectangles.
5) Using the 2d Vertical Dimension constraint, I attempt to dimension the same two corners, but receive
    the following error message, "Could not create dimensional constraint."

In my past experience with programs like SolidWorks, this is something I would expect to work. Should this work in BricsCAD?  Is there an alternative method?

Thanks for the help,
Joe Dunfee

Comments

•  Hi Joe:

I just followed through the steps that you had outlined and have received the same result and I am not too sure why either.  

I did a bit of playing around and I did manage to get it to work:

1: Create your outer rectangle and then offset it inward to create the inner rectangle
    2: Fix the bottom left corner of the outer rectangle
    3: Add a vertical and horizontal constraint to the bottom and left side lines of the outer rectangle
    4: Add a vertical and horizontal constraint to the bottom and left sides of the inner rectangle 
    5: Add your horizontal and vertical dimensions between the rectangles

Interestingly, the following does not work, it also crashes when adding the dimensions:

1: Create your outer rectangle and then offset it inward to create the inner rectangle