Countersinking flathead screws V13 Platinum

I'm fairly new to 3D work, and feeling pretty stupid.  How do I countersink a hole in a block for a flat head screw?  I can drop an 82 deg flat head screw (X-Solids) into a clearance hole, with the head flush to the surface, and "Subtract" the screw from the block.   But what  if I want that screw recessed below the surface, say .050 inches?   I'd need to extend the screw's 82 degree conical head the exact distance necessary to recess the screw .050".    There must be an easy way to do this, but my 2D brain is not helping me!

Comments

•  Hi Jim:

I would do this by creating a cone who's centreline is aligned to that of the hole and then subtract the cone from the body containing the hole.

To create the cone draw a closed polyline which represents half of the cross section of your countersink drill bit.  Note that you could draw the full cross section and rotate it 180 degrees in the next step - it's up to you.

Revolve your closed polyline about it's centreline 360 degrees.  You should now have a 3D cone.

Use the align command to align your cone to the centreline of the hole.  When using the align command, first pick the centre of the base of the cone, then click the centre point of the top of the hole, next pick the point of the cone and pick a point along the centreline of the hole (or the centre of the circle representing the end of the hole), hit enter at the 3rd point prompt and enter again at the final prompt to accept no to scale the entities.

Your cone should now be placed at the top of the hole with its point pointing toward the bottom of the hole.

Run the subtract command and subtract the cone from the object with the screw hole in it.

Check out the video attached, it should give a bit more clarity to my description.

ScreenCapture_03-12-2013 10.43.34 AM.wmv

• Well, the way I'd do it (caveat: there are undoubtedly better ways):