MY 3D SOLIDS WILL NOT ALIGN

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum.

I have this pet hate of mine, my Murphy's Law Alclad (tm) Plate with two existing flanges and the desire to put two stiffening flanges between the flanges with the mounting holes. It was originally created in NanoCAD 5.0, then went to AutoCAD 2015, then CorelCAD 2015 and now I am here with it. I am at advanced-beginner level with CAD so still very much in 2D drafting board intuitive mode. Sorry, if I appear to be a pain.

My current problem is that, in any of these applications including BricsCAD, I am having issues with drawing on the same plane with the result that my stiffening flanges and indeed my curvilinear corner fillet(s) have all gone the way of Voyager  I and II.  They are out there but I cannot bring them back to mother earth (the plate).

In the attached DWG file, there is a plate, two stiffening flanges and one curvilinear fillet floating around in the ether.  That little fillet is pretty special to me because it took me a lot of time to make.

I have one of the flanges near the plate and with ESNAPS on, I can commence a Modify>Align operation with source and destination points. You can see things moving around but as soon as this process is to set the 3rd destination, nothing more happens.  Now that is not unique to BricsCAD. It is also happening in CorelCAD and NanoCAD both of which use a similar CAD Engine to Dassault Draftsight.

The problem of working in the same plane is probably better known to the more experienced user and a pain to those new to cad if they don't grasp the basic concepts, so I would like to gain a better insight how to prevent such misalignments.

Are there any tutorials on this? In any case, my whole drawing career hinges on it so it is a big ask if you can show me the exact steps to keep stuff on the same drafting plane.

Can you help me with this please?

Comments