Sign necessary on ordinate dimensions?

I'm the only designer / draftsman here, and as such, much of my work is "self taught".   That means I have some doubts that I do things to industry standards....

My question regards ordinate dimensioning of 2D layouts.    I design a lot of panels with a high concentration of holes.   Linear dimensioning would make the drawing extremely busy, and hard to read.   So I have grown accustomed to using ordinate dimensions to locate holes and other features.  

If the panel is large, I usually make it's exact center, my UCS datum (0,0).   That way, if there is not sufficient travel on the  milling machine table, the machinist can flip the panel over, re-index the datum, and machine the other holes. 

My question is, should I be applying a sign (+/-) to indicate which side, (Left / Right, or Up/Down) a hole falls from the datum?  (The ordinate dimensioning tool does not apply a sign.)   Since I machine most of the panels myself, the lack of a sign is not a problem.  However, what about a layout that contains a bunch of holes very close to either or both axes of the 0.0 datum?  If I send this out to a shop, are they going to notice which side of zero the hole lies?  

Perhaps there is a LSP file or setting that would automatically assign signs to the ordinate dimensions, depending on their location relative to the UCS origin?

Comments