BricsCAD BIM Examples

Every once in a while I will do a set of house or building plans , and up until now I have been using old fashioned 2D BricsCAD to draw the building - it works, but there are pitfalls at every step, making sure things match, between plans, and then if something changes, look out, and then if we need to pull quantities off of the drawings for cost estimation we get into another nightmare.  

I am considering switching to the BIM tools, but I don't know how they measure up when it comes to creating drawings; sure we can create a pretty model of a modern looking building (see the tutorials on the Bricsys TV website) but a model gets you nowhere with a builder.  I am wondering if some other users, whom are using the BIM tools, could post a couple of screenshots of drawings created with the BIM tools? I would just like to get an idea of how things look in the final output as I am still learning the tools and haven't gotten that far with them yet.  When it comes to building a North American style house with the BIM tools, has anybody created something that they could share a few screenshots of?

Comments

•  Hi Scott,

I have been using BricsCAD for a while and for the renovations of my own house that I am doing myself I started working in 3D. I already had 2d plans because I have lived there 10years so concentrated on areas that I was working on. I drew each and every timber member, each window etc. which is pretty onerous - but this was my own house and I was learning 3D. As a logical next step I learnt to use the sectioning tools to make my 3d drawing create 2d output for professional drawings. I then got my office (civil engineering) to go over to creating 3d models that would be sectioned into 2d drawings and have become confident that the 2d output is very usable professionally.