Layer States in BOTH model space AND Layout View?

I finally got around to experimenting with "Layer States".    I created two layer states in one of my 2D drawings, so I could rapidly turn certain layers on and off.  I then added a custom toolbar for layer states selection, per the video tutorial Bricsys provides.  The layer states switch works fine as long as I am in Model Space.  It does not work as well when I am in a Layout View.  Layers can be turned ON, but not OFF.    How do I make layer states which work simultaneously in both model space and the layout view?

Comments

• I'd never had the experience you described, so I experimented to try to duplicate it, and I learned some things I didn't know before about layerstates, even though I've been using them for many years. Their operation is more intricate than I thought, and there's one really significant advantage to that intricacy.

If I restore a layerstate while in a layout tab, it applies only to what's shown in the active viewport, or to paperspace in that layout tab if no viewport is active. It doesn't apply to other viewports, other layout tabs, or the model tab.

Also, the layers that are turned off in that layerstate definition become "frozen in viewport" for that viewport or for the paperspace of that layout tab if no viewport was active when it was restored. This is great news for me. It means I can automatically set visibility in a viewport to correspond to a layerstate definition. In the past, I've always done that manually, and revised it manually whenever I changed the layerstate definition.

Thank you for calling attention to this.
  • Thanks for responding.  Seems like you have ferreted out the way it works.   It's still a little confusing to me, but I will figure it out.