User Profile Manager & Settings

I am very new to BricsCAD and I have installed the trial version V17. Changing the settings was easy enough, but I can't get them to "stick". They keep reverting to the default settings once I exit the program. I have tried many different things and I must be missing a small step somewhere.

I created a new profile in the User Profile Manager, made changes to settings (dimension changes, turn off UCS, etc.), exported user profile. I then exited BricsCAD, opened it back up, started a new drawing and the changes to the settings are not held. I imported the *.arg file, still the settings are back to default. It shows the correct user profile checked, but the changes do not hold once I exit the program.

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Which platform are you on? Windows/Mac/Linux?

• Many variables are stored in the drawing. Changing these variables only makes sense if you then save the drawing (as a template).

• @drewbags said:
    Which platform are you on? Windows/Mac/Linux?

Windows 8

• @Roy Klein Gebbinck said:
    Many variables are stored in the drawing. Changing these variables only makes sense if you then save the drawing (as a template).

We use the same dimension variables in all of our drawings. Is there a better way to store dimension styles that will "keep" outside of the drawing I am currently using?

• Best practice is to create one or more template files with the desired settings, dimension styles, text styles, layers, title blocks etc. And then select the correct template whenever you want to start a new drawing.

You can use the BASEFILE variable to specify the template for the _Qnew command.

• Templates are not always the answer. "Best practice" is a way of justifying past practice as sacrosanct. If a user wishes to do things differently, perhaps to improve on "best practice", then "best practice" ideology becomes a ball and chain.