Bill of Materials

Hi,

I see you can include parameters into your bill of materials. However, parameters can only be numbers and not strings. I'd like to have Part #, Manufacturer, Supplier listed on my BOMs - and possibly a description. I can get the part number by having the block/bminsert named to the Part# and using the description to put in the Manufactuer or Supplier, but I'd like to have the description as well. Anyone know any workaround for this?

Is having a string parameter in a future build possible?

Comments

• I've played with the BOM for the last couple of days and it appears that it is a work in progress.
    To be a useful & flexible tool it needs to accommodate user data.
    Creating a W8x22 beam I can find no way to see the length in the table except encoded within the name.
    I could not add a description or material type to those items in an external file. That makes the BOM useless to me.
    Mind you I am just learning 3D & Parts but the documentation is sorely lacking.

• @Charles Alan Butler said:
    I've played with the BOM for the last couple of days and it appears that it is a work in progress.
    To be a useful & flexible tool it needs to accommodate user data.
    Creating a W8x22 beam I can find no way to see the length in the table except encoded within the name.
    I could not add a description or material type to those items in an external file. That makes the BOM useless to me.
    Mind you I am just learning 3D & Parts but the documentation is sorely lacking.

I'm in the same boat, learning to use parts and assemblies, which in itself is going well but struggling with the BOM. Like the posters above I need to add (numeric) user data (similar to Custom Properties in Solidworks) as the BOM does not display all necessary information needed for various purposes.