BIM Doors

Lorenzo
edited January 2018 in BricsCAD BIM

Hallo everybody,

im very new to BricsCAD and BIM and I am testing the software because my company is planning to migrate from AutoCAD. I am now starting to learn by myself how to build a BIM Model using the video tutorial from BricsCAD.
https://forum.bricsys.com/uploads/Uploader/fe/33ea4da1d1760cb62f8c4df3345891.jpg

Im now trying to add doors to the model and I have a "problem", if I place them at the base of the wall, the heated floor will cross the frame and the leaf while if I place them on the heated floor the wall wont be cut under the door.

https://forum.bricsys.com/uploads/Uploader/fd/29c466ed11f5345222fe87d9c00ab7.jpg

I am using the standard door "Door_SingleSwing_1" found in BricsCAD library and I have tried to understand how to extend the subtract volume by a given distance (Variable = HeatedFloor) but I didn't manage to find a way to do it.
Could somebody kindly help me?

Thankyou very much,
Lorenzo

PS: if you see anything that I could correct or optimize please feel free to tell me :)

Comments

• Michael Mayer
    edited January 2018

I am also interested.

Doors and the finish floor package are always a bit problematic.
    In my previous CAD I would have 2 Slabs. A Structural Slab +
    the Finish Floor Package in each Room.
    Structural Slab runs through the whole Building, Floor Slabs differ
    depending on Rooms.
    So the Door goes down to top of structural and the missing floor
    between the Wall ends is part of the Door or added separately.

But I think the recommended way in Bricscad is to use a single Slab
    (or Wall) entities in combination with a multi ply composition.

Normally you want to bring in the floor from the opposite side of the
    Door opening direction.
    And the door frame normally goes down to top of structure (?)

I think the given Doors and Windows are kind of templates and you
    should be able to create nearly any kind of element, once you