Experiences of a 35-year AutoCAD veteran

SteveDaniels
edited August 2018 in 2D Drafting

I've been using AutoCAD since 1984, so using it is about like walking or breathing. I've done thousands of lines of Lisp from single and two-character command shortcuts (before they were even built-in) to more involved stuff that expedites the stuff I do, which is mostly 2D industrial control schematics. All that familiarity and all that customization is what's kept me with AutoCAD for probably the last 15 years or so. That's to give you background to grasp what a truly impressive thing Bricsys has achieved for AutoCAD users.

I put probably 6 hours over the course of a couple days into evaluating the trial version of BC, probably half of that in customization (copying my blocks and lisp files, setting screen background and cursor color, cursor size, setting folder paths, setting config variables in BC, etc.) and half in practice/evaluation time seeing how it would do loading my existing drawings and AutoLISP routines, and generally evaluating the drawing experience. I have yet to find one of my Lisp routines that's not perfectly supported, and by the end of that 5-6hrs, including customizing time, I felt like I could actually use BC full time with no impact on productivity! That's 2-3hours drawing time for a guy who's being doing AutoCAD for over three decades! Just beyond impressive.

So here's my [very short] list of stuff that I don't like and/or still need help with:

1. I like to create ad hoc groups of object by drawing, cutting and then pasting back as a block. In AC I can do this with a right click after cutting, but in BricsCAD I have to hit Ctrl-Shift-V. Is there a way to create a right click menu?
  2. I despise the option list that appears when you enter most commands in verb-noun sequence, but I can't find any place to turn it off. Can it be disabled, and if so, where?