Drawing lists

How do people create drawing lists? I have just tried to extract attributes from multiple layout title blocks in multiple drawings but the data extraction tool doesn't seem to work very well in multiple drawings. Is it simple to use the sheet set tool or will I have make significant changes to templates etc for it to work? I have no experience with sheet sets.

Many thanks,

Ben

Comments

• RSW
    RSW
    edited August 2021

A workaround could be to use JTB BatchAttEdit https://bricsys.com/applications/a/?jtb-batchattedit-a1309-al2288

It is a batch attribute editor that allows you to edit multiple attributes of multiple block in multiple drawings in a spreadsheet kind of dialog, take a look at the link for more details. The drawings don't have to be open in BricsCAD, you can load them into the dialog window through a file open dialog.

You can then filter for e.g. title blocks to show only those and then export that filtered list to an Excel or delimited file. That way you will have a list of all drawings. There will be some columns you may want to remove afterwards such as the file path and attributes that may not be relevant for your purpose.

It is also useful for e.g. changing a common attribute for all drawings in one go.

• Haven't tried RSW's suggestion, but have often used a lisp routine that exports TB metadata to a *.xls file which is then sortable etc. Great for creating Dwg Index *.xls files which is what I use it for. Does require editing lisp routine according to the required metadata desired. It searches for the Block name & the metadata w/in that block of the defined TagNames. I have one for TB data (DwgName, Title Lines 1,2,3) & another for AKA data (Also Known As) for other names the dwg has been named. Got it from Wessel Eijkman in 2008 & have use it half a dozen times a year for various data dumps needed for lists of dwgs.
    Will post if there is desire for it.
    Mike