Resize entity

Hi,

I'm moving to Bricscad ( Pro ) from my old CAD software. One thing I can't find is how to easily change the size ( not scale ) of an object.

Lets say I draw a cube 10x10x10mm. I now decide I need it to be 12x10x10. On my old CAD software this was simple, select the object, a dimensions panel shows up, enter 12 in the X dimension, done. The panel that shows up actually lets you manipulate the selection in may ways, absolute x,y,z position, relative x,y,z move, x,y,x rotation, x,y,z scale.... These are all things that I think should be easy to do but seem difficult in Bricscad. When I select my cube and bring up properties, I would have thought there should have been x,y,z sizes in there I could change, but no.

I am a noob with Bricscad, am I just missing something?

Thanks
Joel

Comments

• Editing solids is done in the same way as in AutoCAD. Select the desired surface / edge / vertex and rearrange it in space to the desired location. There is a special mode for the selection of solid surfaces. Or just keep CTRL pressed. To move surfaces in the latest version of BricsCad, you can use the ordinary Move command.
    This is the only correct way to work with a solid. Forget about the dimensions in the property panek. They are not needed. They do not allow you to select the correct direction of resizing. AutoCAD shows these dimensions only for boxing. But no real products in the real world are boxes.
  • btw. When modifying a large assembly of many solids, you do not need to select hundreds of surfaces one at a time. You can use a frame. In AutoCAD, you must hold down CTRL while doing this. Brics is ​​a little different. You need to click on one corner of the frame, then shortly click on Ctrl, then drag the frame to the desired location.
    I recommend that you read here: https://sites.google.com/site/avcplugins/likbez
  • Michael Mayer
    edited December 2021
    Joel_l said:

Hi,