section tools

hello,
As I'm prepared to transit from autocad to brickscad,

i would like to know if for the section tools is it a possibility to adjust thickness numericaly like it is possible in autocad?

and if a panel display comparable to the autocad one is possible,

thanks in advance,

Comments

• Hi Hadrien,
    For the moment we don't have this same setting. You can control the thickness of a section (boundary or volume) by editing the vertex points in the properties panel. Or you edit the section by dragging the arrows.
    We know we can improve here, please create a support request if you want to add more weight to this topic.

Did you try cropsolids? This is a very handy way of showing only a part of the pointcloud.
  • Thanks for your answer,
    i just find the vertex option, and it's already a lot more easier than by draging the arrow.
  • As a surveyor by trade in my early days I now find myself drawing up 2D plans from Point clouds I receive from an external party whom I task with the scanning.
    Firstly, congrats on integrating point clouds into the software (I'm a Pro license user)
    From my first couple of jobs I would say there are 2 things you could look to implement that would massively improve the workflow.
    Firstly, as above the ability to specify the slice thickness.
    Secondly, if you could then move this slice along an axis using say the page up/down keys it would be a real game changer.
    For example a thin horizontal slice through a building and then moving that up and down at will without re-slicing would speed up productivity immensely.
  • Just-Me, v interesting - I am considering putting effort into learning to make my own As Existing 2D plans sections elevations, from commissioned point cloud, to my own style-spec which is well refined to form the basis of subsequent As Proposed drawings. Presently I waste horrific time in taming Surveyors' sloppy styles of creating 2Ds, when it comes to altering them 'As Proposed'.