compatibility Lisp acad vs Bcad

@ Torsten Moses
My congratulations for your work on the Blade Lisp development.
This code runs really at an amazing speed and even offers much more possibilities.
I've been developing in Lisp on AutoCAD since 1985 (!) following Vital Lisp, then Visual Lisp when integrated by Autodesk.
We created over these years a program for the design of steel structures with over 25 000 lines of CONDENSED code.
There is only one minor comment on your approach: the function 'beautify'. This function really messes up my code and expands it so much that I've got no more overview on a high-resolution full screen.
But, apart from this, everything else is great.
To make my code running as well in AutoCAD as in BricsCAD, I had to enter these global variables in the beginning of the code:
(setq *bc* (if (wcmatch (strcase (getvar "acadver")) "*BRICSCAD*") 1 nil)
*ac* (if (wcmatch (strcase (getvar "acadver")) "*LMS TECH*") 1 nil))
In the code itself, there are a few differences between AutoCAD and BricsCAD that I solved as follows:
(command-s "_UCS" (if *bc* "_e" "_ob") (handent (car (entsel))))
(command-s (if *bc* "_layout" "_-layout") "_S" "MODEL")
(if (and *bc* (= 2 (3dS_vimport "pickadd"))) (3dS_vexport "pickadd" 1))
(cond (*ac* (command-s "_3Dorbit")) (*bc* (command-s "_rtrot")))
Because the poor possibilities in AutoCAD for the .dcl files, we use vb.net for all dialog boxes:
(cond (*bc* (command-s "_netload" (strcat 3dSloc "dddS_BC")))
(*ac* (command-s "_netload" (strcat 3dSloc "dddS_AC"))))
Finally, I see no difference in speed for BricsCAD if I use the compiled .DES file instead of the .LSP file.
Only in AutoCAD the .VLX file runs much faster.
Have you got any suggestion here?
Thanks, Jef Joris, 3+

Comments

• Torsten Moses
    edited August 2022
    Dear Jef,

many thanks for your kind words :-)