Use of 'pause' in LISP routine

I'm working on a migration of our AutoCAD customisation to something that will also work in BricsCAD.

Working through the commands, I've come across something that happens differently between the two applications. I'm looking for some advice.

The codes pretty basic. Nothing special:

(defun c:c25 ()
(setq curLay (getvar "CLAYER"))
(setvar "CLAYER" "MR_CON_025")
(command "PLINE" pause)
(setvar "CLAYER" curLay)
)

Some testing shows that BricsCAD lets you change the layer of the object currently being drawn, the drawn object adopting the changed layer.

AutoCAD, although it lets you change the current layer mid-stream, continues to draw the object on the layer active when the command started.

I'm fairly new to BricsCAD. Is there a variable I can flick that stops the current behaviour, making it more like AutoCAD?

Comments

• (defun c:c25 ( / curLay)
      (setq curLay (getvar "CLAYER"))
      (setvar "CLAYER" "MR_CON_025")
      (command "_.PLINE")
      (while (/= 0 (getvar "CMDACTIVE"))
        (command pause)
      )
      (setvar "CLAYER" curLay)
    )
  • Anthony Apostolaros
    edited November 2022

..... AutoCAD, although it lets you change the current layer mid-stream, continues to draw the object on the layer active when the command started. .....

Just curious... why do they let you change the active layer during a command if the change won't apply to that command? i.e., Why would a user want to change the active layer during a command if it won't apply to that command (as opposed to changing it after the command finishes)?

Or did you mean that AC assigns the new layer ONLY to entities created by the current command, and leaves the active layer unchanged, as with an Osnap Override or your lisp function? If so, I think it would be pretty easy to create a lisp function to do that in Bricscad.

• Thanks Roy.