Need help with Parametric Joist

I've spent 3 days trying to figure out how to get this done. I'm new to the parametric modeling aspect and could use some help. I'm trying to get a parametric joist that I can use in our architectural group. I've got the top chord and bottom chord working as I need them, but cannot figure out how to get the webbing to move with the bottom chord and array with the length of the joist.

If someone has some time could you take a look and let me know how to do this. There is probably a better way to get the top chord and bottom chords working in a better fashion too.

There is a lot of potential with these parametric blocks I wish there was more information available on how to put these things together.

Comments

• Fossa
    edited December 2022
    I was able to put this together. Still would like to have webbing in it to be more accurate. It has a massive panel in where the webs should be. Looks like SDS/2 geometry.
  • rose_barfield
    edited January 2023
    I have taken your first model and added an array to the webbing so that you can control this parametrically by length.
    I have then applied a user parameter "Webbing" so that
    webbing=(joist_length-20)/2'-3 59/64" - the length minus the starting gap at each end divided by the spacing between the webbing. I was unsure of the exact gap you would like, so assumed each would touch.

Let me know if you need any more help/advice

Edit: you can also add a parameter to control the spacing and apply this to the formula and the array.
  • Ian Johnson
    edited January 2023
    Rose, how about the depth of the webbing when the "Joist_Depth" is changed?
    Your example doesn't change the "Z" height of the webbing.
  • Fossa
    edited January 2023