Transparency Slider for Point Clouds

Hi,

I'm a land and building surveyor currently running a trial of Bricscad with a view to migrating from AutoCad.

Most of my current work is small/medium house+topo surveys and I've more or less reduced theodolite work to target control and a few levels then the whole job is scanned with a BLK360 (including topo).

I've been playing with some of my point clouds in Bricscad + the KTF Pointcloud addon.

AutoCad and Bricscad both have - Point Density, Point Size, and Style/Colourmap. I can also control the POINTCLOUDPOINTMAX variable.

My problem is -

In AutoCad there is also a TRANSPARENCY control in the form of a slider that ranges from 0 to 90%. This has multiple benefits - It reduces the speckle effect of the points, fades the cloud so that line work is more visible, and (importantly) reveals and enhances detail below the nearest points eg. detail below shrubbery (especially vertical faces). I use it for everything (generally 1% for topo, 80% for floor plans, 1-25% for elevations)

I can't seem to find an equivalent tool in Bricscad.

I'm fully prepared to alter my methods and workflow but the absence of this tool could be a deal breaker for me...

Any help/advice appreciated (I can attach some comparison screenshots if helpful).

Thanks in advance.
Quentin.

Comments

• Here are some comparison screenshots (Bricscad left, AutoCad right)

Both pointsize minimum (1)
    Both POINTCLOUDPOINTMAX maxed out
    Both look pretty much identical when AutoCad transparency is 0%

Transparency 80% in AutoCad

Reduced point density in Bricscad

Transparency 1% in AutoCad

Reduced point density in Bricscad

• Also, navigating the point clouds in Bricscad is laggy and I'm getting a tiling effect (visible in the reduced point cloud density floor plan example). Is this maybe a graphics issue?