Multiple drawings in Model - Export or Print All to PDF

Does someone use or can provide insights on how to create a LISP routine that performs the subject line operation? I am now a novice programmer capable of making relatively simple modifications to LISP programs only.

Comments

• DFLY
    edited October 2023
    It's a bit tricky I think. First you would need to determine the drawing area for each sheet in model space. And then print each area consecutively. The only way I can think of how to do, is to have a dedicated layer to put rectangles around each drawing sheet. A simple solution would be to use the layout tabs to show one drawing per layout and then publish the layouts. No code needed. I'v attached an example of what I mean. It's a bit crude, because I don't work that way. But I have received plenty of drawings from companies that do.
    Actually after a bit of searching, it doesn't seem possible to print from the command line. You can call the print dialogue box from command line, but that's no good for printing and setting windows with lisp, at least it makes it way more complicated if at all possible.
  • With the -Plot command (note the dash) you can print from the command line.
  • Yes can plot all sheets in model space, but as suggested using layouts makes life so much easier. There is lots of examples of creating layouts with a fixed title block then using a mview at desired scale.

One example is pick a point on the objects enter a scale and a layout is auto made.

I have auto make layouts but its more for Civil works where you have sheets of a fixed size and scale, but in saying that part 2 is plotting the layouts with mixed scales and orientations. Yes lisp using -PLOT.

Back to you provided you have say a block re rectang, at desired scale yes can be done. The attached will need changes to suit your dwg.

• Clint2U
    edited October 2023
    All (3) three responses to date are highly valued.
    Thanks to each of you!

---