Debugging in VBA (a HowTo)

Debugging in VBA (an HowTo)With the new compatibility of VBA with Autocad, some of you might want to explore the capacities of VBA. I think you should as the VBA language is strong, quick and in my opinion transparent. I’m a self thought VBA programmer, and especially in my first years I developed my capacities slow. I now believe I should have known more about debugging in VBA. I wrote this to help starters: Knowing how to debug one’s code is vital for sound programming. Frustration is probably unavoidable. Knowing how to debug will surely help avoid frustration too. As I failed to find a good tutorial on the web to point to, I decided to start this thread with my own experiences. I had to be short. Please feel free to make additions to it.----------------------------------------The purpose of debugging is to have detailed insight into what your code is doing with your variables and objects at any time during the execution of your code. ----------------------------------------1. Option ExplicitBefore you start I recommend you have the Option ‘Require Variable Declaration’ set in the Options dialog of the Visual Basic Editor (VBE). At the top of your module sheets the statement Option Explicit will now appear. This option will demand from you that you declare your variables before you use them. This will help you in preventing errors.This option is responsible for the error message “Variable not defined”. It points to variable names that are unknown. You might have forgotten to declare it. Other causes might range from a serious mistake to a simple typo.2. Compile your codeIn the Visual Basic Editor (VBE) you have the menu option Debug – Compile. I suggest you get used to compile your code before execution. It will find and highlight syntax mistakes in your code. Beware: The error messages are often difficult to interpret, especially for the beginner. If you do not understand the syntax mistake that VBE reports to you, try to run your cod