Equivalent to Bcount and Tabbed Drawings

Has anyone written a lisp routine similar to Bcount (block count) in AutoCAD, and the Miditab routine that inserts tabs in the workspace that show multiple open drawings (this was an .arx file).  I'm not a lisp programmer so when I try to run these under BC, of course there are errors because of the difference in prog language.

Thanks,

Frank

Comments

• I believe the  Miditab routine to which you refer is the 'DocTabs' application: you can find it at https://www.bricsys.com/common/applications/applicationlist.jsp?estore.ApplicationCategory=16

• Thanks for the DocsTab tip, that is exactly what I needed.  On the block count item, I know I can check that in drawing explorer, but the bcount command was an easy way to count blocks by grabbing a portion of the drawing and typing in the command.

• Hi Ethan,

If you don't mind trying a small third-party application, you may want to give GeoTools a look. It is a productivity tool for Bricscad (and AutoCAD) that adds over 250+ additional tools for various purposes. Among them is a drawing statistics tool (GT_DWG_STAT) that performs block counts and reports statistics.

Click here for more info:

http://www.4d-technologies.com/geotools/manual/inquiry_tools.htm#DWG_STAT

and for downloads: http://www.coordsys.com/geotools

Regards
    Rakesh Rao

Blog: http://rakeshrao.typepad.com

• If you only need a count, you can go to the drawing explorer window.  Each block listed will give its count.  The only drawback is that you cannot export or even copy this information to your clipboard to paste into a table.  For that you need a 3rd party application.

Joe Dunfee

• Thank You Joe, that helps.  Trying to learn this program after 20 years of using AutoCAD and still run my freelance cad job.  I do really like this software.