AutoCAD Educational Stamp: How does BricsCAD handle this?

The educational version of AutoCAD attaches a stamp to drawings created or edited in that version. This stamp is a very nasty thing as it will also infect files created with the full version of AutoCAD that have come in touch with a file from an educational version (insert, copy/paste, xref etc.). And once infected those files will start spreading the educational stamp virus as well.

What does BricsCAD do with such an educational stamp?
Do I run the risk of sending out infected files?

These are obviously questions for the Bricsys team, but because I think that more users are interested in this issue I have decided to post on the forum instead of submitting a support request.

Comments

• Note: I do not use Autodesk software. But I do sometimes receive or download drawings created with AutoCAD. Any of these drawings may contain an educational stamp.
  • Although I have had no experience with Autodesk Student Versions, I understand the workaround to be DXFOUT / DXFIN.
  • Interesting... I never came in contact with such files, and was unaware of their existence, thanks for pointing this out.
    I would take for granted that, if BricsCAD opens these drawings silently, it must also remove this little nuisance without further notice on save...
  • Merely out of curiosity, I DL'd what is supposed to be a sample dwg with educational stamp (from here: http://www.jtbworld.com/edufinder.htm).
    Opening it (sandboxed) with BricsCAD, I can see no evidence of a stamp.
    Perhaps there is no API within BC that supports said stamp?

• Hi Roy,

I've had some experience with this a while ago. Short answer is that the educational stamp only affects AutoDESK products. It is completely ignored by BricsCAD. In fact if you open in BricsCAD, then save, the educational stamp is removed.

I had planned to update this post with this information.
    https://forum.bricsys.com/discussion/19279

Regards,

Jason Bourhill