Plot window to jpg or png

Hello Bricscad community!

I've been trying out the software for some hours and must say I'm impressed. In my job as a surveyor I use AutoCad a lot, but only a very limited amount of the features. Therefore I set out looking fore something more lightweight and less expensive. With the GeoTools addon I've found all the features we use at the office, except one.

I'd like to know if there's a way to plot a window of the model to a png or jpg. AutoCad has built-in plotters called PublishToWeb JPG and PNG.

When I try to plot from Bricscad I only see "Fax" and ""Microsoft XPS Document Writer".

Any tips here? It would be very nice if there's a solution to this.

Regards,

Tom Øygarden, Nerdrums Opmaaling AS, Oslo, Norway

Comments

•  

Hi Tom,

We are the developers of GeoTools software for Bricscad (and AutoCAD) and thank you for the compliments.

Please do let me know if you need anything else in GeoTools that you did not find. We would be glad to try and add them in for you.

About your plot question, I am sure you have seen it but there is an option to export the DWG to BMP or WMF, from which you can convert to JPG or PNG. I am not sure if there is a direct way to output PNG/JPG. Perhaps, Bricsys support may answer this for you.

Regards
    Rakesh Rao
    http://rakeshrao.typepad.com

• Hi Tom,

Many of our user use so-called virtual printers which instead of sending their output directly to a physical printer generate a file. This method is used extensively to generate PDF output. Please note that while Bricscad allows to 'export' a complete .dwg to pdf format what I'm talking about here is really printing (rather than exporting) to PDF.

Personally I use PdfCreator but I'm sure you will find many virtual printer programs out there. PdfCreator allows to set the output format (and deviate from it's PDF default). PNG and JPG are among the many supported output formats.

Regards,

Ferdinand Janssens

• Hello all,