Slice / Subtract Sheet-metal part

Hi,

attached you'll find a picture.

How can I subtract the lighter grey part from the darker part with the bend ?

Thanks
Steffen

Comments

• The obvious answer: use the _Subtract command.
  • Thats what I tried. Unfortunately it isn't working. Errors shown in the attached image.
    This happens after selecting the bended parts to subtract from and selecting the lighter grey part to subtract.

Any ideas ?

Thanks

imagetest.JPG
  • Perhaps the light grey element is not a 3D solid but a 2D solid with a thickness.
    If that is not the case then you should post a dwg.
  • Thank you for your support Roy. I'm a newbie in 3D modeling. Attached you'll find the dwg file.

Best
    Steffen

TEST.dwg

• There is only a single 3D solid in the dwg. The _Subtract command requires at least two separate 3D solids.
    I do not have experience with BC Sheet Metal, but here are two approaches that can work:
    Use _DmPushPull. You can push a 3D face so that a 3D solid becomes smaller. With this method you can completely remove the light grey 'flange'. The bend can next be removed in the same manner. Finally you will need to remove the bend relief. Again _DmPushPull can be used.
    Create a temporary _Box and use _Subtract. With this method you can remove the flange, the bend and the relief in one go. You can then use DmPushPull to adjust the width of the remaining 3D solid.
  • Sorry don't get that.
    Isn't there any possibility to slice / cut the light grey part away ? It should just align to the bends / flanges.
  • Is this what you want? Just did a push/pull on the side.

TEST2.dwg

• Hi Patrik,

no - thats how it was before I extruded the side to the flanges.
    I just want to get rid of the light grey triangle.

Thanks.
  • At the end - it should look like in this picture

imagetest2.JPG
  • Great - thats what I'm looking for.
    How is it done Patrik ? Need to do it on all for sides and don't want to die dumb ;)

• Perhaps: