3D "Parts" vs Blocks

Although I have done very few ACAD 3D exercises in the past, I'm new to 3D in Bricacad.
All my drawing has been in 2D. I upgraded to Pro on Friday & started some tutorials.
Looking at "Parts" and Assemblies offered in Platinum they look like blocks to me.
We have the Parts in Pro but not Assemblies and BOM.
I'm attempting to draw raised steel walkways (catwalks) with raceways as well.
There will be lot's of welded parts & railings as this will be a "Shop Drawing".
I'm starting to think that Assemblies and Bill Of Material offered in Platinum is the way to go.
Is there a big advantage for Assemblies over blocks?

Comments

• Hi Charles,

Torn between posting here and in the newbie thread which is following a similar theme now. My direction of travel is in the world of product design/manufacture where parts and constrained assemblies in Creo and Soldiworks are normal. I have come to Bricsad with no usage of Autocad previously so blocks are fairly new to me.

I my mind parts represent real world individually identifiable objects from which products are assembled. Again my experience each part will exist as an inventory item somewhere in manufacturing or its supply chain. The CAD design workflow I follow has the objective of producing the information (specification) manufacturing use the make / buy individual parts or assemblies. Therefore parts, assemblies and BoMs in mechanical fit the world I am used too. With the usage of CAD parts being pretty close to the usage of physical parts in manufacturing

As I say I am new to Bricscad and still learning, but I see blocks as a productivity aid for repeating and reusing features in the CAD workflow, rather than the reuse of pre-existing physical parts. Although I see on the other thread its seems common to use them to represent components within an assembly. I guess different industries have different practices.