Moving 2D and 3D objects

I'm new to BricsCad (coming from Vectorworks), so excuse my ignorance.

I realize there is Move command, but what I was looking for was a more elegant means to precisely move and align objects.

Is there an attributes panel that when an entity is selected I can modify that entities properties and position?

Also, when moving something like a square or rectangle it seems that I am limited to one of the corners. It would be useful if I could move it based on its center.

Comments

• ALANH
    edited February 2021

Look into Osnap and Shift+right button mouse.

You can create your own snaps using lisp.

For you Move, select, m2p it will ask for 2points and use midpoint.

Trying to remember there is a Graphical centre snap for plines. Found it, Move, select-pline etc, "Gcen", pick again, drag

• Please have a look at the Manipulator to move, rotate, mirror (with or without copy) entities precisely.
    See https://help.bricsys.com/hc/en-us/articles/360006429914-Manipulator

• ALIGN and 3DALIGN?

• Michael Mayer
    edited February 2021

@Loren said:
    I'm new to BricsCad (coming from Vectorworks).

Autocad or Bricscad works quite different in many aspects.

I realize there is Move command, but what I was looking for was a more elegant means to precisely move and align objects.

There quite a few Options to achieve that. As mentioned,
    the "Manipulator, similar to that 3D Gizmo that you are used from VW's SubDivision objects.
    Or dynamic Grid (?, or similar name) which will offer a virtual dynamic Grid, depending on zoom level
    or view scale. This will work precise, even without need of numerical input.
    Then there is the option to select 2 elements and a dynamic Dimension (DYNDIM) will appear that
    will show the distance between the nearest Faces/Edges/Vertecis of both.
    When you edit that numeric Value, it will automatically move the 2nd (!?) selected object to the new distance.

And maybe a few more options.