Entering math in Bricscad instead of entering direct values

Hi,

I'm new to Bricscad, actually, I'm pretty new to cad drawing in general. Up until now I have mainly used Sketchup for drawing professional projects (furniture, home cinemas, sound studios).

In cnc-programming I'm used to enter math instead of values. For instance, the start position of a line could be 1024-3*79,42.

Is there a way to enter math in Bricscad where you would normally enter a value? When you draw a line, you can enter 1024/5 for instance, but 100+100 doesn't work.

Comments

• I used to do so and liked entering math in number fields too before Bricscad.
    AFAIK, so far it is not possible in Bricscad.

• @Michael Mayer said:
    I used to do so and liked entering math in number fields too before Bricscad.
    AFAIK, so far it is not possible in Bricscad.

Did you used to do this in other cad software? As far as I know, Autocad doesn't allow it.

When I think of it, it is actually pretty weird if this isn't possible.

• I'm not sure about Microstation in the far past but I use to do it often in Vectorworks
    and Modo, maybe Nemetschek Allplan, Archicad and C4D too (?)
    I always thought this would be standard.

OK, if not available in Autocad, no wonder if it isn't in Bricscad.

• Richard Webb
    edited April 2021

Use a LISP expression where you would ordinarily enter a simple number. LISP takes a little getting used to, and I'm a mere novice compared to some of the code-slingers on here, but this is a case where a little knowledge is useful.

For example, at the command line

L
    Start of line:(- 1024.0 (* 3.0 79.42))
    Start of line:785.74

General syntax ( [binary operator] [argument] [argument]).

LISP will "cast" the arguments to / (division operator) to floating point if at least one argument is float but (/ 5 3) uses strictly integer math, so the result is 1. Muscle memory to always stick a decimal on all numeric values is useful.