Programming and Automation for Wiring Diagrams

Hi!

I'm new to the forum and pretty new to CAD as well, but I hope to have found the right category for my thread.

I'm a project manager/engineer with a system integrator establishing audiovisual and conferencing solutions.

Therefore we need to create a whole set of drawings (wiring diagrams, rack layouts, wall and room layouts etc.) for our technicians and technical support staff. Right now we are working with MS Visio, whats nice to get going quickly but - honestly - is a pain in the %&§ with a lot of automatisms MS has embedded in their software. I think, in therms of customization, we should get the switch working fully with CAD.

With establishing BricsCAD in our company, I'd like to set up an environment with some really helpfull automations that would save us a lot of time.

The most important customizations would be for the wiring diagrams:

1. Every wiring connection needs to have a unique number (eg. AAxxx für Analog Audio, DVxxx for Digital Video) This number should be displayed horizontally on each end of the polyline connecting two blocks. Depending on the cabling type the polyline needs to have a colour code. Internal cabling should be solid, external cabling should be dotted lines.

Is there a way to program this? Ideally I just define the cabling type, internal/external and the numbers are set automaticly in ascending order als well as the polyline is set to the right colour/style.

At the end we should be able to extract the cabling infos to a excel/csv file to feed our label printer and set up a cabling list for the electrician to draw the external/structural cables for us.

2. The blocks should always follow strickt design rules:
- There's a header description in the defined colour of the device type
- The orange edge in the upper right states if the device is delivered by us or the customer
- Stating manufacturer and model
- The colour code of the connectors is the same as the cabling