erase function will not erase a solid!

I've been using V16 for 2 years. My computers motherboard crashed and I bought a brand new laptop (HP Envy17.3, WIndows10) I installed both v18 and communicator on a fresh computer that I have not loaded any data files onto yet. In 3d modeling mode, I changed the screen to black, increased the size of the cross hairs and proceeded to draw a sphere using the model/3d solids/sphere command. So far so good. I hit the red "X", clicked on the sphere, hit enter, and it would not erase. It told me "only shell in body would be lost". Here's a copy of the commands

_erase
Select entities, edges or faces:
Entities in set: 1
Select entities, edges or faces:

only shell in body would be lost

Surely the erase command hasn't changed? It erases lines, circles, etc with out a problem. Has anyone ran into this?

Comments

• I suspect you're selecting an edge or face instead of the sphere. Check SETTINGS -> SELECTIONMODES.

• YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you!!!! BTW, I called tech support and they forwarded my problem on to you. You can ignore that now!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!

• For the erase command to work properly, the SELECTIONMODES setting needs to be set to 0, or 4. In order for the QUAD cursor and 3D constraints to work properly, the setting needs to be set to 3. Is there a way to set up the erase command to automatically switch to "0" and the QUAD and 3D constraints to automatically switch to "3"?

• Use the CTRL key to temporarily override the selection mode. If you're running with Edge, Face, and Boundary selected, for example, an unmodified select on a sphere will select the face (surface) of the sphere. As it should. Press CTRL before selecting and the solid will be selected instead.

Similarly, with SELECTIONMODES at 0, selecting the sphere gets the solid but selecting with CTRL pressed picks up just the face.